top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

Ahhhh Recovery

Recovery after a 50k

The conquest of finishing a 50k feels like you can literally take on any type of running race that is out there, I have said to my wife after a 50k, “hell I can run 100k next!” These adrenaline fueled idiot remarks often get me into trouble and push me further than I can. (I.E. Saying I can run a 50mile in a 8 hour window when it takes me 5:30 to run a 50k, it’s just not happening right now) The most crow I have to eat often comes after I have finished a race at a new PR, like Killens, or when I am taking on a new challenging course. The day after, much like a hangover, is the course feeling in the world; steps are the devil, food can’t come fast enough, sleep doesn’t happen.

After my last 50k I decided to write down what I do to start and work through the pain that I feel after a long run. As I sat with my friend Bill at a picnic table I started to feel the tightness of my legs and the fatigue kick in. I asked him to stop midsentence and explained I needed to go home or he would be driving a passed out man and carrying me inside. I hated to do this because I don’t see Bill ever often, but when I do we have great conversations about everything…I digress. The feeling of muscle fatigue is much like that of the tides of the ocean. When a big wave of hurt is coming, it comes strong and fast. Little waves of feelings come and go in-between the massive ones. I have felt this before and had every sensation that it was bound to happen again. I needed two things right away; carbs and something to drink.

Driving a stick is not conducive feeling great after a run. One leg can usually get a little bit of relaxation after a run, but with stick, both feet and legs are constantly moving. My drive home was an ebbing and flowing of uselessness of my legs. Left leg, clutch in, ouch, right leg gas, ouch…so on and so forth for the forty-five minute drive home. I drank a cup of iced cold coffee all the way, it helped. The next hurdle was pulling into the driveway and feeling that stabbing pain in my legs once again to get out of the car.

I didn’t look forward to heading upstairs because steps, that’s why. Every hate something do dumb before? I hate steps after a race, hate them so much. Hobbling and almost falling up a step is the most degrading feeling in the world.

From this day forward I take it easy, like really easy. Three days of basically laying around and staying off my feet. Work is passed by either being on my feet or sitting. There is no in between. I have a job that requires me to be on my feet for the most part of a day, but on these days I am off them as much as possible. I continue to eat healthy, but with more carbs and fats than normal. I want confront foods that help me feel full and benefit running. By the third day I am antsy. I usually try on this day some hiking or walking, it gives me a feeling of how much more time I need off. The nice thing about this time is I didn’t feel terrible, it hurt like hell, but it wasn’t all that bad. My training had paid off and the pain in my legs had subsided enough that I could continue walking, but I had something in the back of my head that said no way.

The fourth day feeling turned out to be the right amount of time. There was a slight pull in the back of my knee, but it wasn’t bad. With the feeling of accomplishment I did what any runner would do in a resting week. I started to look for the next challenge. Most of my rest week is thinking of what I am going to be doing next. Should I do another 50k? What is the next race up? 60k? 50miles? It is this week that gets me in trouble because I start to look at races and signing up, if I am able.

After I feel like I have recovered enough to continue my training I start to plan out my next big race and get my plan of action. I have often thought about creating a formal template and sell it. I think my plan is perfect. It offers leg workouts with weights, long distance running guides, and even things to eat. I try to plan it out perfectly for my body and performance type, get the most bang from my body.

If you want my plan let me know. It’s a good one and maybe I’ll share SOME of my secrets with you?

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page