top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

I'm Quitting Spartan! Oh wait, that's pretty.





Giving up on Spartan racing…or so I thought.

Through-out the summer I have been training for an upcoming “biggest challenge,” kind of race. All my efforts have been going to 40-50 mile weeks to prep my legs and mind for running long distance early in the morning and getting ready to ramp up my training for longer runs. My time at the gym has been used for legs, hills, and light upper body work. Everything I have worked on this summer has been for the 100 miler eastern states that I plan to run next year…nothing would to prepare for any other race.

The Eastern States is a 100 mile race that is the end of a triple crown of running throughout Pennsylvania. It is the third and final race that is the pinnacle of the three. They start you off slowly and work up to the 100mile distance. They start with Hyner 50k, the distance shouldn’t fool you, it’s part of the Triple Crown for a reason. Followed by the World’s End 100k, and then finishing off the fun with Eastern States 100. Each race harder as you move through the year, each race in itself a monster of a hurdle. My training has been for these three races, start with some 50k training mixed in with some nice leg workouts and light lifting. At the beginning of the summer I was hyper focused on long mileage and feeling the hurt.

July hit and a friend of mine started talking about Spartan Racing. We’ve run a bunch together, but the thought of running another one was not in my mind. I started thinking about the possibility of running the winter Spartan, a race I have heard is the most fun you could have on a mountain. Fond memories of Citizens Bank Park and NJ beasts, Palmerton’s ridiculous super, and of course the highest level I reached, the Killington Ultra. The more conversations I had about the races, the more I longed for that sufferfest.

Long story short, through some raffles, a sweatcoin, and sure stubbornness, I am not facing at least a 5 race Spartan year. As I started to plan my season I realized what I wanted to do. One race in each category. One stadium run at Citizen Bank park, one Sprint during the Winter Spartan, my super will be, of course, Palmerton, and my Beast/Ultra which I’ll do one of each will be in NJ. Preferably I would love to do my Beast or Ultra beast in Vermont….but, three kids come first and stuffing them into a car for that, I’m not sure it is in the cards this or next year.

I now have my Spartan Race season basically planned, my workouts are becoming geared toward everything and I couldn’t be more excited. I am not putting my 100 mile race on hold. I am going to see how I am able to run my first 50, then I will go from there.

I have become involved with the community again and have found it to be extremely enjoyable and much different than the social groups I have left because of negativity. I have done many Spartan races and almost feel like one of the OG’s. I can help anyone that needs it and I am able to give good solid advice to people that ask.

I am enjoying the questions new Spartans are asking remember when I asked them as a new racer long ago. If you are a new racer and have any burning questions that you need answered, please feel free to ask. Gear, Nutrition, which race is right for you…Anything!! I would love to help new Spartan’s become immersed in the community as I am finding myself getting back to.

I didn’t think I would be going back to Spartan, but recently I have been getting extremely hyped up when I see the old YouTube videos, and hearing the race director say…”Who are we…I am Spartan! I am Spartan! AROOO AROOO AROOOOO!!!”

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page