top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

Killens Pond 50k

Updated: Jan 27, 2018





Fat-Ass, a term in ultra-running that means self-sufficient running: they don’t give you shit, you don’t win shit, and it doesn’t cost shit. This is the exact phrase I use to describe what a fat ass event is to my mother. I love them. It is as organized as a free event could be, you have a location where your stuff is (or not if it is an out and back) and some way to keep track of your laps/times. This past weekend I ran the angela ivory memorial run in Felton, Delaware. A 50k, optional 50 miler, which runs a 3.1 mile loop that starts and finishes as a picnic area. Probably the most fun I have had at an ultra-event this year so far.

Killens Pond state park is a lovely scenic venue that is tucked away in the small town of Felton, Delaware. Positioned right next to the high school of the Lake Forest School District, it is like home to me. Stephen and friends ruck the trails here just about twice a week, and I like to get one or two in a month if the temperature is just right, or if there is a professional development day. I felt some pride signing up for the event, I didn’t want to disgrace my home turf. I knew the trails, I knew I wouldn’t get lost this time! I signed up for the race because it was a fat-ass race and because it is getting closer and closer to the Spartan Ultra in New Jersey. It was also the reason I invited my friend Bill to come along and try his legs on the 50k course.

The morning’s temperature was a beautiful 42 degrees and was going to reach as high as 55 for the day. To me, the perfect running temperature. The race director was late getting to the event, so someone else stepped up and led the charge for the loops and what we needed to do at each and every lap. He started the timer, after a few pictures, and we were off on our first 3.1 mile loop. Everyone started together in a nice talkative pack, asking questions about the course or have we done other races. It was something I wasn’t used to and honestly it made me uncomfortable. I know that sounds weird, but I still considered it a race against myself at least and my previous times at other 50ks. Our pace was 9:45, a very comfortable way to start a race, especially when you know you have 9 more loops that you have to finish. I couldn’t stand it thought. I had to be my old normal self and ask one of the runners who I liked talking to if he wanted to stretch his legs. We took off….as always I was being dumb in the beginning of a race.

Three laps passed and I was still in the lead of the pack 9 miles of 8:40 pace, still slower than I would say for most of my races, but I still felt like it was a great pace for the 7 more laps to go. The man I started with was still trotting with me, but I knew at the next lap he was gone, and he was. Within the first few meters he decided to just go. He didn’t look back. This guy was an old salt of running. He would pass me twice and then do an extra lap to cool down later.

I was left alone for the rest of the race just about. I love Killens pond, it really is a great place to run some miles and see some good scenery. I didn’t stop to take pictures, I never do, but I relished in the fact that this was a great way to spend a day. Then tragedy happened. The ground that was once solid from cold weather, turned to mush and mud. I took a bad turn and splash; muddy hands, muddy legs, and a knee that felt like someone had a hot knife stabbing my knee.

After the next 2.1 miles I wanted to give it up and stop. The pain that was in my knee was now getting into my head. Anyone who has done an ultra-marathon knows the head games being on your feet for that long can cause. I resorted to taking my phone with me for the next loop of three miles. I sent a message to my wife that I thought I was done, my knee was in too much pain. Again, the ability of a nice phone call or a facetime with your children can really alter your thoughts again and give you the energy you need. My littlest gets on the phone and asks what I am doing, how was my race going. I told her “daddy has a boo boo, I think I want to come home.” Her response was “Daddy done racing?” It was that small and meaningful question that got me. NO! I was not done racing, I would not stop! I pounded a bottle of water, ate more honey stingers, and took two Ibuprofen.

The last two laps were amazing. My knee pain was suddenly gone, I found my friend Bill and ran the last two laps with him. I really really enjoyed myself on the trail. The best part I found piece with the woods and started to take in the scenery again. I even PR’d by at least 30 minutes! I couldn’t imagine how I would feel if I didn’t continue on. I didn’t know at loop 7 that I would PR that day, it just goes to show you…don’t quit, you’ll pass out before you die.

My nutrition for the race:

I ONLY used honey stinger Gel and Waffles for the run. Honey stinger was nice enough to send me a package of nutrition for running. I decided I would only use it for the race and go as far as I could on nothing but their product. I completed the goal of using ONLY honey stingers and I beat my time. I can recommend their products for long distance or any distance of running. Their waffles kept me on satiated for the entire race. I was impressed with how great each of the flavors tasted.

I have loads of extra waffles and gels. I want everyone to use their product on their next run. If you have read this, comment below an upcoming race you are training for and I will randomly select 5 people to get the Honey Stinger Products to try!!

amazon.com with exact products for you to buy as well. Going through this affiliation code is cheaper than going directly through amazon.com. Enjoy!! Go to My list page and order some up!! Discounted price and all that!!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page