top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

LARABAR Review

Updated: Jan 27, 2018


LARABAR Review


Whenever I set out on a long journey for a run/ruck or even on a day trip I always take one thing with me. LARABARs. LARABAR is a company that makes products that are healthy, nutritious, and can help fuel your longest travels. I first hear about LARABARs when I did my first Beast in Vermont. The nine hour event that was in the cold rain of the Vermont Mountains was a self-sufficient race. I was convinced I needed to eat something of 200 calories or more per ever two hours. I chose to bring cherry pie LARABARs as part of my go to food source.


I was able to survive the ordeal on the food I brought with me and in-fact, felt great at the end of the race. I have been in love with the company and the foods they provided since that time. I reached out to LARABARs to set me up with some bars that I may have never tasted before so I can review them on our site. I branched out and decided to have my children also try them along with eating one bar 30 minutes before a long distance run. (As a mile marker I would run 6 miles)


My Kid's Review:

Lukes(7) Coconut Cream Pie Review:



I really like the coconut. I’m not normally a coconut person but this was a good bar. I feel like the bar was able to fill me up and be healthy for me. I know it was healthy because it says only five ingredients in the bar. I could taste the coconut right away and really enjoyed the flavors. I think from this point on I would like one for my lunch if that is okay with you?

I asked: “Do you think people should buy them?” His Response: Yes, these are great bars, I like to eat healthy and I feel healthy as I am eating them. Coconut is a good bar and tastes sweet, but not to sweet. I can tell there is sugar, but not so much sugar that it is not unhealthy. Kids should be able to eat these whenever they want.”

Abby’s(5) Cherry pie Review:


We have had cherry pie for Thanksgiving and for Christmas. I like cherry pie. This is a good cherry pie. I like the cherries because they are sweet, it is very yummy. (She looks at it) I can see bits of cherries in the bar and I think that’s a good thing too. I know what I am eating.

I asked “Do you think kids your age would like them?” Her Response “I think they would. Cherries are really yummy and they are sweet. Can I take them to school to share with my friends? I think they would really eat it up!”

Maddie’s(2) Chocolate Chip Brownie Review:



MMMM daddy this is good. Can I have another one? Me: one is enough. Her: No, you have more I want more. Please please Please please!

As a whole unit, my kids loved them. They really are nutritious for the kids and help fill them up with good ingredients instead of junk food after school. I am sure if I had more, my kids would eat them every day they come home.

My(36) Review Carrot Cake(10k):


I wanted to try a LARABAR I had not before. I enjoy carrot cake for Easter, so I thought I would give it a shot. The overall taste of the bar was a 7/10. It was really good, crunchy, and had a nice taste of carrot. I was expecting them flavor of the sugar you would get on the top of a carrot cake but wasn’t really there. After looking at the wrapper I should have realized it wasn’t meant to be sugar. The ingredients stated that it was “A pinch of this, a little of that—it all combines to create our delightful Carrot Cake. This luscious, moist and lightly spiced nutritious treat provides 10% of the recommended daily value of Vitamin A and 4 grams of fiber. What makes it so great? Carrots, dates, almonds, walnuts, raisins, pineapple and coconut. Piece of cake!”(http://www.larabar.com/our-products/larabar/carrot-cake)

I decided to run a 10k after about 30 minutes of letting it settle. My normal routine is an orange before the run and possible a gel if I needed it during the run. Today I started off slower than usual because, to be honest, I was nervous I was going to cramp up. About a quarter of a mile in I opened my stride and started to really push it. I felt satiated throughout the entire run and didn’t need anything extra while I was running. My pace of 7:15 never fell and I never felt like I was cramped or heavy.

I would suggest eat a LARABAR whenever you feel you need a boost of energy and want to eat healthy. Yes, I sue them for running and long distance hiking, but as a whole this product is something you can use whenever. I have taken to bringing at least three LARABARs to school with me for the week of snacks. This ensures I am having something to eat that is healthy and nutritious and won’t cause a crash at the end of the day. I whole heartedly recommend this product to anyone of the healthy mindset to try. They really taste great and do the trick!

If you have read this post about my review on LaraBar, please subscribe to our emailing list and be entered to win one of eight Larabars. I have reviewed them, now I want everyone to try one as well! If you subscribe you will be entered in our raffle; we will draw eight names and let you select which bar you would like. Offer ends 1/19/2018. Winners will be drawn on that day!!

12 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page