top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

Shoe Shopping is Crazy!

Finding the right shoes for you



There comes a time in every runner’s career when they have to bite the bullet and buy a new pair of shoes. Currently, I am going through the process of picking a new shoe. I asked a community of runners what shoe they were running with and a lot of the feedback was the same, why not get the same shoe again? This has been an ongoing dilemma for me for the last month…”How do I find the right shoe for me, now that my favorite has been discontinued?”

Through my trials and tribulations with finding a new shoe I have found a few consistency’s on the internets; 1.) Stick with what you know, 2.) When selecting a NEW shoe, test it first, 3.) Many websites offer “what shoe is best for you,”, and finally 4.) Go to a running store. Let’s address these three ideals individually.

Stick with what you know:

To me, this the best option, but usually the one that leads you to the most problems in the end. I have been running with the same Altra’s for over three years now, I like the feel of the cushion, the height of the shoe is perfect, and I can run with them on trail or off. The Altra Impulse was an impulse buy. I needed something new for a long distance shoe, and I needed it fast. I realized a few years ago running on the trails and no road just wouldn’t work out. Every time I came back to the road, even for a 5k, I would feel it in my back and my legs. I had lost the muscle memory of how the dense road bites back, how the pounding of the pavement hurts much more than a cushiony trail. At the time the impulse was a great choice, I could run both trail and road in and found it very comfortable running on both trail and road in the same training session. It even became my go to shoe for trail races that were less technical. As the years went along, I should have realized how much I loved this shoe. Had I stopped and thought for a second, I would have bought another pair right then and there. Many runners buy two maybe three pairs of their favorite shoe. My suggestion, if you have a shoe that just feels right to you, stop reading this and buy another pair. My shoe is no longer being sold, or if it is, its going to cost more than a brand new one. Stock up, stay comfortable, and run in something you are used it. It is the easiest way to not risk injury.

When selecting a new shoe, test first:

Most running clubs or running stores have this option now. At many races I have been to, shoes a lot the participants to try their shoe for a lap or two. Most notably, Altra shoes. The shoe company, or near buy running store, set up a table at the event and have their shoes laid out for people to see. In one such race the company was letting racers come over to the table, get their correct size, then run one of the loops in the shoes. We always go with the thought “never try anything new on race day,” but I saw more than just a few racers trying these shoes. Personally, if this race is a fun run, why not test it? I will be running a race this summer that has the same race directors as some mentioned before, and I look forward to trying out their gear before I buy it. We run stuff into the ground as racers, we want gear that’s not going to fall apart with every little 20 mile run we do. I wish they did these gear trials for other things than just shoes, I probably wouldn’t have a closet full of useless belts, handholds, and vests I’ll never use again.

I know Altra, Nike, some retailor stores, and Amazon, always have ways to try their product first. I suggest checking out your local retailor or your favorite online running store and see if they will allow you to test them first. It doesn’t hurt to ask and you’ll be surprised how many actually have testers for you to run in.

Many websites offer “what shoe is best for you,” choices:

New Balance, Altra, REI, and Saucony, just to name a few, give you an option to talk through the type of show you would like to run in or what the surface of the place you will be running in. The questions are very basic type questions, but they help you hone in on a shoe that you believe is right for you. As I started to run farther and farther distances, I needed something that had more cushion to support my feet throughout the entire run. You can also find some websites that will take your through your shoe feel, your cushioning, and even where you have pain.

I have used this method before, I have found some decent shoes, it is not as full proof as going to an actual store, but if you are in a pinch, this is a great option. If you use this method, shopping through a shoe generator, make sure you do your diligence and check reviews and prices throughout amazon, ebay, and other running stores. They try to sell you shoes at a raised price, which for me, is not something I am willing to do.

Check in the search engine of your favorite search bar and see what comes up. I just typed in “which shoes are the best for me generator,” and multiple multiple sites came up. Check some of them out and share your favorite.

Check out: https://www.roadrunnersports.com/rrs/product/shoe-dog.jsp I just went through the process of which shoe would be best for me, for what I am looking for, and I found two new shoes I am willing to try. I will, of course, match them up to reviews and intense scrutiny first.

REI has a great article that emphasizes the importance of finding your right shoe. Check this website to maybe help you go in the direction you need to be. https://www.rei.com/learn/expert-advice/running-shoes.html

Go to a running store

By far, the best choice for anyone that can find one. There are many stores out there that “Help” you find the right shoe for you. They might have you run on a treadmill for 30 seconds, watch your legs from the back, and then direct you to a shoe that is “RIGHT FOR YOU.” It’s funny, because I have done this a few times, they never seem to suggest a shoe they don’t have. Every show they suggest is a Nike brand or under Armour. I haven’t ben running Ultra’s very long, but I know the cushioning in a Nike is going to react differently than that of an Altra.

I suggest the smaller mom and pop running shops. They take time to work with you, give you advice on shoes that would work for what you are going to do, and sometimes even let you go out for a run in the shoes that day. Most mom and pop running shops also have the benefit of being their own boss, so they want to make sure you keep coming back. These stores might allow you to test or run with you to watch your gate. These smaller running shops also have run clubs; getting involved opens you up to new runners and new people with likeminded ideas. They can also open you up to new races and in this case new shoes to try. I suggest this option to anyone that is looking for new shoes. This weekend I am going to my local running store to find a new pair, I know what I am getting as far as customer service, it is by far the best option.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page