top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

Summer 2018 Gear Reviews: Ultimate Direction

Summer Running 2018

Being a teacher does have its advantages. The biggest one is having the ability to run basically whenever I want to during the summer. This page was created to show how a father of three is able to juggle the stress of children and being able to be an ultra runner. Summertime gives me the ability to throw most of my caution to the wind and run whenever now. I can get up at 5 and still run, I can wait until nap time and run mid afternoon, I could even run in the morning and then at night if I feel the need or want.

This summer is no exception. So far this summer I have clocked after 200 miles of running, been on my feet in a trail or woods type atmosphere, or just broken in some new type of equipment on a fun run in the summer heat.

Due to the nature of my summer breaks, I have decided to give some reviews of the new stuff I have obtained throughout the year and give my personal feedback. I am not affiliated with these companies, so my reviews will be honest and my own. If you have differing opinion about any of the gear, please leave it in the comments. I would love to hear about your experiences.

Like my opnions? Subscribe to my emails. One a month you will receive race reports, gear reviews, and other stories that relate to running at 36 with kids. (There are also chances to win things along the way.)

Ultimate direction:

Jurek Collection Waist belt hydration



Rating 7/10

I’ll start with the newest and work my way backwards. I seldom buy gear that is brand new. The only time I do is if someone has said it was the greatest thing ever, or is Runner’s World magazine gave it a 10/10. The Jurek Waist belt is not something I ever thought I would buy. I had a waist belt for a while from Nathan running, that just wasn’t working out for me. It got too tight during a run and it couldn’t hold the amount of stuff I would need for going longer distances. I bought the Jurek on a whim as something I could use when I am taking the dog for a run with me. The comments said it was the best belt they had ever purchased, it didn’t ride up on the runner, and it barely moved as they were running with it. I found pretty much most of the comments were written by people that had never tried different type of hydration gear, or they had the belt so tight that it would constrict their blood flow.

As I started out of my first run with my dog, I loaded the belt up with two flasks of water, two honey stinger waffles, and a poop bag. (If I’m being honest) Right away I had to try to find the tightness that was going to work for me. Yes, I had to pull it pretty tight to alleviate the bouncy feeling of the flasks. It took about a mile of running to really get the feel for how I liked it, but once I did, I really enjoyed the feel of it. The material is very skin friendly, and doesn’t rub you raw. It had the perfect amount of space for running the distance I was for the trial period, 3 miles packed to the brim, I didn’t need all the stuff I brought, but I wanted to see how it felt when it packed full. Half way through the run I had used half of the flasks for the dog to drink and the poop bag was gone. The belt was much more comfortable. I had found my sweet spot and marked it as soon as I got home to never lose it. It is a strange fit, my sweet spot, as it is not on the small of my lower back, but more on my hips. I don’t know if that is a preference thing, or just the way it was designed. It rides right on my left hip, doesn’t bounce there, and it makes it really easy to have my hydration or foods right there.

I purchased this belt with the idea that I wanted to use something smaller than my Ultimate Direction PB for shortish runs. I have since pushed the elements of the distance I wanted to use this for from 6-12 miles I am very comfortable with the belt. It holds enough liquid and enough space for my phone, buds, and waffles.

Pro’s:

It has a nice feel of the fabric against the skin.

Even after nine miles the Jurek was not rubbing me raw and was sitting comfortably on my hips

Enough space to carry everything I would need for my short distance runs

Comes with two flasks specifically for the belt.

The rope ties are wonderful to keep everything secure

Con’s:

Bouncy when fully loaded

Hard to find the sweet spot (it takes some time, can get frustrating)

It’s not really a traditional hydration belt in that it doesn’t sit on the small of your back, but more a hip rider.


TO Race Vest



Rating 9/10

I want to start by saying, this is the vest I have been waiting for. Ultimate Direction puts out quality gear, I have said that from when I started buying their products a few years ago. Slowly I have been transferring all my gear from Nathans (which is a very good product) to Ultimate Direction. I find their gear to be tried and true in the ultra marathon world. Heck, their stuff is made and tested by legends in the sport. The TO race vest is a product I can 100% get behind. So why only a 9/10 and not a full perfect score?

The Timothy Olson vest is near perfect with its light weight, breathable back panel, and its ability to hold just about everything I need. I find the amount of distance I have used this vest with has shown me the perfect distances to train in with this specific vest. With the TO I have run both street and trail. I have run anywhere between 9-20 miles in this light weight vest. I am sure I can run a bit farther in it, but I don’t want to push it to far right in the middle of race season, left in the middle of a trail without enough to survive the path back. I am able to fit two full size bottles of water and Gatorade, three waffles or gels, and small compartment in the back for my keys. (I love the little hook to hold my keys in place, I don’t know if that’s what it was for, but that’s a great thing) The easy access panels to all the different pockets make it perfect for anyone going out on a long or short run, or even to just go out and hike for a while.

There are two features on the vest I have not been able to try out as of today are the cell phone pocket in the back of the vest and the trekking pole holders on the side. I have used a trekking pole in another vest I have and found that cumbersome, the positioning for the poles on this vest are right up front for easy on and off. Overall, if you are looking for a light weight and durable vest…this is it. I love the sleek design and the simplicity of the entire vest. Everything you need for a shorter distance run is right there at your disposable. It fits perfect for the form and just has an overall great feel to it.

Pro’s:

Light weight design

Open back of the vest for the air to breath

Easy access to every part of the bag (keys, trekking poles, cell phone)

Perfect for long distance, short distance, any outdoors activities

Con’s:

Cell phone pocket on the front to listen to tunes, if that’s your thing.

PB Adventure Vest 3.0




Rating 8/10

This bag is my big mother of a bag. It takes care of you in ways you didn’t know you needed, even goes overboard a bit, at least for what I have used it for. This bag consists of 14 places to hold your items for the long haul. I have used this bag for a five 50k’s, 1 marathon, and a few self guided tours on the trails or NJ and the parks at the beach. I mean, this thing has it all!

I have completed four 50k’s with this vest, and all four I have run self provided. I had everything I needed in this bag throughout the race and it never became cumbersome or painful while holding. On me at any given time while using this bag I have had: four Honey Stinger Waffles, three gels, two full bottles of liquids, cell phone, car keys, Vaseline, buffs, a second shirt, my hat, and my trekking poles. Everything sits in it owns pouch and doesn’t impede my running or chafe me because of its’ weight. The added bonus of this bag is that it holds so much, I always have left over nutrition.

When I first started training with this vest it took a little bit getting used to. The shoulders and the neck were areas of concern in the hot sun when I sweating a lot. They became to hotspots for me as far as chafing would happen. Much like any other piece of equipment I have, I figured out what would work for me and work for the bag. I just used a little bit of Vaseline around the collar and the shoulders and it became almost non-existent. I now just use a buff around my neck and it cuts it back completely. I also realized in the beginning I needed another vest or hydration belt for when I go on shorter distances. It was seriously wonderful on any distance I would like run farther than 15 miles. So much opportunity for those pockets!!

I find it hard to go out and train with a shorter run while wearing this bag. I know it is not for a 5k run out and back, or even a 10 miler. This bag is used for, what I think, would be a 26miler and on. I have an upcoming 50miler that I am currently training for. This bag will come out to train with only when I am going the long distances or to just make sure it is sitting comfortable on me. I feel as if I have only scratched the surface of this bags ability on the trail, like it is being underutilized in my runs. This “mother of all bags” was a great birthday gift that keeps on giving. We will see all the extra advantages it has when I start hitting the trail even harder for that first 50miler!

Pro’s:

Lots of compartments

I can be self supported for hours and hours on end

Trekking poles (even though its on the back, I still like it)

Con’s:

Lots of compartments

I feel it is ONLY for long distance races…a niche product


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page