top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

Top 10 Fuel for Long runs



Top 10

Running Fuel for Long distance Races

Whether it be a 10k or a 100miler we all worry about what to eat along the journey. Here is my list of go-to nutrition for when I go on my long training runs or an ultra-distance race. The list is created in my favorite to least. They all made the list, so they do hold a special place in my running fuel.


 

1.) Gu Gel Chocolate Outrage

One of the most surprising tastes this year for me. This GU made number 1 for taste and effectiveness. It is like eating a melted bar of Hershey chocolate. The taste really is surprisingly good, but the 100 calories you gain from it along with the 450mg of amino acids, 50mg of salt, and 20mg of caffeine make it dynamite. It had been some time since I had used a GU gel, opting for something that was more health conscience, but I am glad I went back. There is NOTHING wrong with a little bit of GU while you are running. The added bonus, Chocolate Outrage and Toasted Marshmallow are just like a s’mores if you just gulp them together, I found this our by accident, and was so impressed, I went out and bought more of each. 200 calories of amazing taste!

Gu’s are great source of fuel for any race. When I was first starting out I always packed one GU in my pocket if I started to feel hungry. A quick rip and a sip and I was fueled for the race. Best used in a 10k or more, or if you are running for more than 45 minutes. (That’s my personal rule.) Gets you through to the end of your run and the taste is what really puts it over the top.


 

2.) Gu Gell Toasted Marshmallow

This is in my second spot for basically the same reasons as the Chocolate Outrage. It was amazing put together and really tasty without the chocolate. That being said, I felt I could have gotta sick on the sweetness of the marshmallow, either because of the marshmallow taste or because of the extra sugar.

It is still soooo good mixed with chocolate. DIG IN!


 

3.) Honey Stinger Gluten Free Organic chocolate mint flavored waffled

Honey Stinger has been a staple of my nutrition for running for the last almost decade. My first experience was with the chews. (Chery Cola) They hit the spot and were easy to carry on long or short runs. I found it even easier to take them out of the packet on cold days, as they froze pretty fast but were then good ice cubes. I started to take the Gels of Honey Stinger, but found them not as good as the chews. The flavor choices in the chews just outweighed the gels. Then came something I was really unsure, waffles…honey waffles. My first real experience was at the rocky run challenge. Before I even started running I balled one of these bad boys up and tossed it in. I was good for the first 6 to 7 miles. I was in love.

At roughly 150 calories for most of the waffles, they packed a great amount of carbs and cals. The 32 carbs and 27 sugars really get you moving out on the course. They are easy to pack and easy to eat. The difference flavors make this a staple of mine for any long run. I can pack 4 of them in my Ultimate Direction running vest and a bottle of water and head out. The flavor here is Chocolate Mint. It is a refreshing blast of mint while you run, it really is nice!


 

4.) Honey Stinger Organic Waffle Strawberry Flavored

Much like the Gu’s this is on here for a flavor reference. I really loved the Mint and the strawberry is delicious too. This comes with a little less carbs and less sugars, but I’m really not worried about either of them when I am 4 hours into a race. The taste keeps me going and the waffles fuel me perfectly.


 

5.) Untapped Slopeside Syrup Maple

This one surprised me. I bought my first Slopeside on a whim. A friend on Facebook was taking them for long runs, I love maple syrup, so I did what anyone else would have done. I bought a few to try. WOW I used maple syrup to get me through an ultra-beast in Vermont a few years ago. I did shots along the way, filling my belly with sugary goodness. Anyone that asks, that was what got me through that 12 hour day of hell.

A shot of this is 100 calories, the nice thing is all that potassium it gives you, a little bit of salt, and sugar, pure organizer tree sugar. This is a fun choice for the daring. I think this one will move up the list as this year progresses forward. I did not buy a bunch, so I’ll have to restock it. This will be in my to go bag from this point forward as a great alternate choice.


 

6.) LaraBar Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

I’ve mentioned this before. It tastes like candy. I love Larabars as a great choice to eat during long runs as nice treat for you. Protein, carbs, sugars. It really does pack everything that you need in one bar. Unless I am doing a really long run, there’s no reason to eat these for running. I do love the flavor choices and I will gladly eat them as a snack in the day. They are gluten free and natural. I am glad I found them, but honestly, unless I’m running in a really long race, I won’t be using these for fuel.


 

7.) Cliff Bar White Chocolate Macadamia Nut

Cliff bars go into the same basic principles as the Larabar. I eat them sparingly on long runs, but find them to be full of everything you need to succeed on the trail. The last race, 50k, I had two of these. One after my first 5k loop and one right before my last. The amount of sodium is spot on, much needed potassium during a race, and a whopping 42 grams of carbs. At 260 calories in each bar, it is basically a whole meal for a runner. A friend of mine, only eats cliff bars before and during runs and usually nothing else. They aren’t as easy on my stomach as other things are.

Don’t get me wrong, I love them and White Chocolate is the BEST, but this year I tried new things, so this fell on the list a bit.


 

8.) Tail Wind:

I wrote up a report on tail wind, but I wrote it up from the aspect of using it as a mixture with water and drink it like Gatorade. Every time I use it I get issues with my stomach and it really makes my heart beat fast. I can’t really explain, but I wasn’t the biggest fan of the product for a long time. Since then, I found a friend online that said to add less water and more powder to make a gel. This was concerning to me, because I was not going to try MORE sugar and possibly have more issues with the feeling of jitteriness as I run…I assure you it is no fun. Tailwind boasts 100 calories per spoonful, with an option to use two spoonful’s as a gel. With 303mg of sodium it’s a great source for running long distance with a nice 25mg of carbs too. The source of tailwind comes from corn extract that is broken down to its simplest form. High power sugar and a great amount of carbs…it’s really a perfect race gel.

My review is unsubstantial. It worked well, it did what it was supposed to do, and the flavor was amazing. (Lemon) I have only tried it once like this so I will review products and nutrition again when it comes closer to the heavy part of race season, and this might move up some spots. For right now, 8 is a good place to put it.


 

9.) Peeps…yes, peeps

Everyone has that comfort food when they run, something in their drop bag that is a gift to yourself when you have competed a certain amount of miles or just something that you are running to eat because it’s your favorite. My go to treat…peeps. Yes, I love peeps. Whenever I get to mile 26 or 28, I eat a sleeve of these bad boys and go on my way. More people will think its nasty, deplorable, gross. Let’s face facts though 5 peep chicks are 140 calories 36 grams of carbs and 34 grams of sugar. Peeps hide nothing, it is what you see a lovely ball of sugar and carbs. Hey, it even has 15mg of sodium!!!

Hate them all you want, but if Peeps ever had an affiliate program or sponsored an athlete, I’d be first in line!


 

10.) Jelly Belly Sport Beans:

Jelly Belly sport beans are a bit of a quandary for me. The small packet of jelly beans contain 100 calories, 80mgs of sodium, 25mg of carbs, and 17gs of sugar. I personally have not used them for a long run yet, this is an option I would only use for a 5k or 10k. The low amount of calories and carbs wouldn’t really be enough for hours and hours of running. I have used them in short runs as to just pop them in and enjoy the sugar ride.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page