top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

Top 5 St. Patricks Day Gifts for the Irish Runner in your Family

Brooks St. Patrick’s Day Shoes: Launch 6



I wanted to start with an obvious one. Brooks running company has put out some great patterns for their shoes this year; American flags, tie dye, and now the St. Patrick’s Day shoe. In all honesty, I have never worn Brooks before, I like something with a bigger toe box for a smoother ride with my awkwardly big second toe. The Launch 6 is a nicely designed road shoe that offers a lot of the comfort that a long distance runner, like myself, would utilize.

With its light design of only 9oz and its high arch, it creates a nice ride for any distance. If you are looking for a nicely cushioned shoe, with a nice amount of spring in your step and enough stability to hold your foot at a perfect angle, then this is the shoe you need.

The newest feature of this shoe is the wide toe box which, if you are like me, is an added bonus to keep your toenails from getting purple or black and falling off. The Launch 6 “St. Patrick’s Day addition is the best looking shoe I have ever seen come from a shoe company. They are going hot, so head over to Brooks or any other website that carries Brooks and get your today.

Grunt Style: American Irish



I have been a big fan of Grunt Style from the start of the company. Their shirts are my go to shirts when I wanted to send a funny message to people watching the race. Before finding this shirt “American Irish,” I used to wear Abraham Lincoln “Libeerty,” for obvious reasons. The 100% cotton, 100% American made shirts are soft to the touch, and are perfect for an over shirt of any race apparel you are wearing. Anything Grunt style is my go to and will remain my go to. I have never had an issue wearing these while running, nor do I foresee an issue.

These shirts fit to form and do not ever cause any chaffing. I wear these shirts for fun and for sport. The American Irish shirt is in my drawer of shirts to wear while running or while out and about. With an awesome design, premier fabric, and the wear ability, this shirt along with all Grunt style, help me keep Grunt Style as a stable in my closet.

St. Patrick’s Day headband or Buff



Ah Buffs. Either you love them, or you don’t understand the benefits of them. One thing you probably don’t know about me is my hatred and I mean hatred for sweat down my neck and my back. It makes mental when I can feel it. I only just started using Buffs has either a neck-ker-chief or a headband. Some people wear them on their arms to wipe away sweat, which would work, if you don’t sweat as much as me. Usually, the band starts on my head in the beginning of the race, that’s when the sweat comes the most, it sops up most of it then. After roughly 15 miles I wrap it around my neck. It is comfortable and keeps sweat from going down my back. I keep it bunched up around my neck and take it off to wring it out every so often, this creates a nice cooling sensation and relieves from weight.

This St. Pratricks day buff comes with a nice elastic rim to keep it on your head, regardless how sweaty you get. If you are a heavy sweater, wearing a buff becomes almost as essential as a nice pair of shoes. I do not ever leave my house without one.


Hydro Flask



What does ever runner need? Water…Hot or cold it doesn’t matter, a hydro flask it the best thing you can get a runner to ensure you water stays at the temperature you want it. I fell in love with the hydro flask on my first time around Trap Pond 50k. I filled it up right before the race and basically forgot about it until after 6 and a half hours of running loops. My water was probably the best tasting it had ever been. Freezing cold, crisp, and refreshing. I never, never leave home for a long run unless I have my hydro flask somewhere, where I can easily get it and drink from it. Looped miles, out and backs, it doesn’t matter how long (probably realistically 6-8 hours of temperature), your drink will stay cold and refreshing till you are ready!

The fact that this one is Kelly Green, makes any Irish man or woman excited for the chance to drink from one for St. Patricks day. Oh, just in case you were wondering, beer stays cold for as long as water, so after a long race, if you want to celebrate in style, this is the flask for you.


Suunto Ambit 3 Lime




Suunto is my favorite watch, there is no denying it. The battery lasts forever. The watch it pretty light weight, even though it looks huge. I stand by the tracking and the quickness it takes to sync with a satellite. The network has NEVER dropped while I am out on a long run like some other watches I have had in the past. It is important to note, I have a Suunto watch with heart rate, it is an option you can get while buying your own, and I suggest it. It gives you max heart rate and O2 max. Do some quick research if you want to get a really solid watch.

The lime green is VERY green. I wish I had known beforehand that this color was available, I would have clearly chose this as an Irish man.

I have created some links in each of the following 5 St. Patricks Day items. Amazon let me create an affiliation code attached to each. Use that, you get a discount and so do I!! Enjoy!!


I have uploaded everything written above here on Monday's List link...Check out the top of the page to find the link and check it out!! Click the links in the pictures...I tried to find them as close as I could on Amazon...they are the same things in reality. Enjoy :)

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page