top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

Where it all began

Updated: Sep 6, 2018

From an unhealthy lifestyle to Endurance Running:

I tried to think where do I start with this whole blog? I decided to start where my running story really began. Seven years ago I found out that I was going to be a father. Much like probably many of you, I started freaking out about everything: where will he sleep, will I be a good role model, do we have enough money, and my last thought was do I lead a healthy lifestyle to keep up.

I was an award winning tennis player in high school and college. Two of my four years at college I was the team captain and won the MVP for my team. My records were almost perfect; one season I had a perfect record, no loses. I was on fire, running and lifting and keeping up with the other guys on the team. Then, the vices hit. The biggest hit to my ego came at the end of my junior year of college and my weight had ballooned. I was the heaviest I had ever been, my brother could tell and was honest with me, everyone else just said it was the dreaded freshman 15 that finally caught up to me. I knew that wasn’t the case, fast food was my friend and freshman 15 was more like freshman 40. Tennis was still a big deal for me, but eating and drinking became my life.

Flash forward, college is over. My blushing bride and I are sitting on a couch in our living room. I had received the call while talking to parents during parent conference night. I rushed home, she was very upset and crying; excited, but scared at the same time. Things had to change. I didn’t want to be that father that had a “dad bod,” I wanted to be able to keep up with my son and I wanted more kids. (Yeah, I knew at this point I wanted more) The next day I started cooking healthy and working out. Spotty running and P90x. I was not going to let my unhealthy choices define me.

From this moment forward I was going to push myself to show my children how to achieve greatness, how to be a winner again, and how to just be a great father figure to them. That lasted until my second child was born and then onto my third.

This blog will consist of my methods for working out and figure out around the nap times and the bedtimes and the early early morning. For the last 8 years I have created plans and followed through with them to push myself father and farther. I hope to share this with you, answering questions you may have, and helping you to lose the “dad bod.” Dads are important…we want to be a society of fit dads, not fat couch fathers.



39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page