top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

50k…no way? Oh hell yeah!

It’s not Saturday for the next post and I won’t be home so this is a day before it’s supposed to be…




As I drink my coffee this morning I start to think about a race that has been on my mind since I completed it…got lost as hell, but still was able to complete it; Batona Trail 50k, Pemberton, NJ. The Batona trail is a 53.4 mile trail that spans the distance from Ong’s Hat to Bass River. This scenic route takes you through the beautiful parts of the Pine Barrens and dubs that only experienced racers should apply. The location was right down the street from my mother in laws house and I had done 2 other 50k’s, so how hard could this really be? Experienced runners needed, meh, I was going to do it either way. In fact, I canceled another race for that same day to be able to run this race; free, no frills, and a “fat ass (1)” race.

The race started very early, very cold (22 degrees), in the dark of the pines. The pines, where the sun don’t ever shine! I had no music, my water bottle was filled to the top, and I had a mess load of carbs if I EVER got lost…ha ha ha. I wasn’t taking the thought of getting lost very seriously, how could that happen on a well-marked trail. Like most races the first mile helps you separate yourself from the rest of the pack, I ran along at a pretty fast 7:30 pace and stayed with the lead pack for the first mile. 7:30 pace is actually dumb for the distance I still had to go, ask any ultra-marathoner, you need to begin at a methodical low heart rate pace that you will feel comfortable for the entirety of the race. There was no way I could hold a 7:30 pace for 32 miles.

The first mile pinged on my watch and I was with five other guys that were break necking the course. One guy behind me asked if I had seen any pink buffs, pink buffs were the markers on the trees that let you know where you were. NO buffs, but the older gentlemen in front of me HAD to know where he was going…he said he did it last year. Dumb.

Almost two miles in and I was lost, lost by an extra 2 miles. Depression and frustration and hatred for now that old guy, no longer older gentlemen, knew nothing! Ever double back on a race that is supposed to take 6 hours? It sucks…I almost stopped because it sucks so badly. So, I found the buffs on the trees and ran, I ran for at least 1.5 hours alone, completely alone in the woods. It was scary, just so mad the entire time. The first aid station was a relief, I asked “how close is the next person” and she pointed, REAL LIFE PEOPLE! We did a little chit-chat, then I left him. I sat back on my legs and settled in for a nice pace of 8:30. I was feeling better, I had eaten a cookie and my guys and I was feeling great!

The pines are really beautiful and a pretty well-traveled route. I met a few people, slowed down to talk to two of them about their journey and where they were heading. Most of the people were out for a camp for the night to be able to travel the whole distance, and here I was running 32 miles of it in one morning. It was a great time being alone, like alone alone, in the middle of the woods with nature and no screaming kids trying to get their POE or their Lamby or DS. I slowed my pace to really be able to enjoy it, and I did.

It is now 6hrs into the race and I’m getting worried. I haven’t seen anyone for over 4 hours and my last time for the 50k I did in Philadelphia took me 6hrs and 30 minutes. My watch was saying I was 31.76 miles. I past a guy on the trail and ask him the distance he thought it was to Basto Village. He said at least 5 miles. FIVE MILES! A 50k is 32.1, I should have been finished and enjoying some coffee or something. In my frustrated state, I lost the trail and didn’t realize it. DAMNIT! I got lost twice in a race that was supposed to be my fun run. Anxious now, I doubled back for a second time and looked for the trail. No trail, no buffs, no body! I ran backwards a whole mile, nothing. SO, I did what I thought was right, I ran back the way I was before and continued running. Intense pain in my hip and feet, but I wasn’t going to stop. What a bonehead move. My next 7 miles, yes 7 miles, was pure torture and frustration and anxiety that I didn’t need. I bushwacked my way from path to path trying to find the buffs I was looking for. I called my ride and he started yelling at the race organizers to find me. They sent out a search party, no one found me. No one was coming for me, I sat down for a second and just thought. I’m going to be fine, I a near the village I am supposed to be at, I had a few sips of water left and a waffle. I didn’t lose my cool. Cadre Mickey would be proud, “cool breeds cool” he says. I was cool and relaxed, then I started walking. I found a hill, a nonspecific hill, but a hill that I could see the woods. I saw a flash of something, I yelled. “Hello?” Just like a stupid hello not like a panic hello. A small voice said and I quote, “hey, you looking to get out of here? Follow me.” Relieved I found the path and a human!

I ended the race at 7hours and 15minutes, 38.5 miles. I was covered in control burn and my hip was hurting again because adrenaline was gone. Since that race, I have been back out there twice. It has become my favorite place to run, I love it out there. Summer time I will be out there running and running and running. The next time the Batona Trail 50k/50m comes, I will be doing the 50k, just to make sure I know the path. The 50miles is not out of reach, just takes more training….right now, I can’t afford the time that needs to go into that, but I will get there! See you next year Batona trail!

Here’s the link if you want to sign up for this race:


(1) Fat Ass Race:

“Fat Ass races are in the grand tradition of ultras being relaxed, low key, loosely organized, adventure runs rather than high pressure, competitive races. The concept of the “fat ass” race was the brainchild of Joe Oakes of the San Francisco Bay Area. Oakes had had to scramble in 1978 to find a Western States qualifier and ended up running solo as a seven-runner team in a relay that extended from Half Moon Bay to Santa Cruz along Highway 1, a road that hugs the Pacific Coast and offers some spectacular views of the ocean.” (http://thetaoofrunning.com/writing/beginners-corner-running-wise-columns/what-is-a-fat-ass-race/)

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page