top of page
  • Writer's pictureDads on the Run

Training Plan for 50k



One of the ideas I thought of for this Blog was to share some of the methods I use to make sure I am ready for the grueling adventure my body and I are about to go on. I always want to make sure of two things: 1) my plan is feasible and obtainable in a way that I will be able to do each activity on the day that I have said I am going to do it and 2) I am on my feet…a lot.

Instead of boring you with the basic set up for the entire 50k plan from 3 or even 4 months out (which if you subscribe I will gladly send you the 4 month plan) I thought I would give you the gist of what it would look like for at least three weeks.

The very first thing I think about, even before I put my plan into action, is the type of food I will be munching on during the event and leading up to the event. I always go less high starches and less complex carbs, off season is a great time to get your pizza and waffles in, but before a big run it is always important to eat health and eat carbs that will help build up the storage vats that you have inside you. My go to is lots of fruits, veggies, and nuts. I am not here to say to you that you should stop what you are eating and follow me, I have just been doing this method for some time. I always want to make sure my tank is full of carbs that will help me get through the race and I want to be well hydrated. HYDRATION DOES NOT START THE DAY BEFORE! Getting ahead of myself but, you should be drinking lots of water and hydration (Nuun, pedialite, Gatorade) at least two weeks out.

So, when it comes to my plan I start with thinking of the two key factors: am I going to be able sustain the path I’ve chosen and how can I stay on my feet to meet my needs. The first is harder than the second. Is it feasible? I never start out by saying on this day I am going to be running 25 miles in a click and then the next day 2 hours in the gym working on legs. I always save my longest runs for the weekends; preferably when the wife didn’t work the night before. I want to make sure I don’t rock the foundation of my home, because that could stop everything on the track. I usually make sure I have at least one long run of 10-20 miles in a week. I make it feasible to run when I can, if Saturday morning isn’t going to work and I have it written down as the day, I switch it to Sunday or another day that will. Make it fluid. Get your miles in, but make sure you are able to before you set out, never cut yourself short. Last suggestion for making it doable, never set out for a 50k run for a training run, unless you have everything you need and have told someone where you are going, things happen, 32 miles in one sitting is hard to do.

The second is “being on my feet.” A 50k and above is doable for anyone, time hacks are a thing but shouldn’t be what holds you back from signing up. Running, walking, hiking, crawling, whatever you have to do, make sure you are on your feet for some of your workout days. I never under estimate the power of the squat and the lunge, but simply going for a 2 hour hike or an hour ruck, something that gets your feet under your body and feet moving in the right direction. 50k’s can take a long time, I’ve been out for 5 hours, 6hrs, 7 and a half hours. Know your course! It is imperative to know what time of elevation your course has and get on your feet and practice it. Sitting on the couch waiting for the 50k to start isn’t going to get you ready. You might be able to simply walk the whole thing, but that’s going to take your many more hours than you have.

Whether you are going to the gym or running on a trail for a training day, make sure it is something that is doable for you to complete, make sure it gets you on your feet for a good portion of the training, and lastly have fun with it.






This is my tried and true workout regimen. I have it all laid out for 4 months. This is just one of the months leading up to the 50k. Sign up for the blog if you want the rest.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page